The table below lists the awards given to Disability Rights Wisconsin and DRW staff since 1999.



Award Recipient

Name of Award


2015 Mitch Hagopian Howard B. Eisenberg Distinguished Service Award Wisconsin Equal Justice Fund
2015 Liz Ford Advocate of the Year Award NAMI – Greater Milwaukee Chapter
2015 Lisa Foley Dan Tuchscherer Outstanding Public Interest Law Attorney Award State Bar of Wisconsin: Public Interest Law Section
2014 Elise Cassidente Ryan Klesh Public Interest Legal Worker Award State Bar of Wisconsin
2014 Karen Lane Jim Maddox Peer of the Year Award NAMI
2013 Barbara Beckert In Search of Excellence Award WI Family Based Services Association
2013 Barbara Beckert Best Local Activist honor Shepard Express, Best of Milwaukee honors
2013 Kit Kerschensteiner Distinguished Service Award Equal Justice Fund
2012 Kim Hogan Sally Sunde Family Advocate Award Community Shares of Wisconsin
2012 Barbara Beckert Champions in Women’s Health WI Women’s Health Foundation
2011 Monica Murphy Wome in the Law Honor Wisconsin Law Journal
2011 Ellen Escalera Howard B. Eisenberg Service Award Marquette University Law School
2010 Jo Cauley Special Recognition Award ARC Dane County
2010 Shirin Cabraal Dan Tuchserer Outstanding Public Interest Law Attorney Award State Bar of WI Public Interest Law Section
2010 Joan Karan Distinguished Service Award Equal Justice Fund
2010 Barbara Beckert Independent Living Advocacy Award Wisconsin Coalition of Independent Living Centers
2009 DRW TASC Advocacy Award National Disability Rights Network
2009 Liz Ford Quest For Excellence Award Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division
2009 Barbara Beckert Barbara Stein Building Bridges Award National Council of Jewish Women
2009 Shirin Cabraal Elder’s Advisor Award for Distinguished Service in Health and Elder Law Marquette University Law School
2009 DRW Appreciation Award People First Wisconsin
2008 DRW Commendation for being “on the forefront in helping hundreds of people move from institutions into community living arrangements.” Congresswoman Gwen Moore
2008 DRW Commendation”in recognition of 30 years of outstanding service to the people of the State of Wisconsin.” Governor Jim Doyle
2008 DRW Richard Blakely Organizational Achievement Award Governor’s Committee for People with Disabilities.
2007 Monica Murphy Distinguished Service Award Equal Justice Fund
2007 Ellen Escalera Backyard Hero Award Community Shares of Wisconsin
2007 Barbara Beckert Advocate of the Year Award Mental Health America
2007 DRW Voices of Courage Community Support Award Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault
2006 Mitch Hagopian Pro Bono Award for a Legal Services Attorney Wisconsin State Bar
2006 Phyllis Greenberger Individual Advocacy for Children Award Children Come First
2006 Shirin Cabraal Robert Bradford Smith Award for Advocacy on Behalf of People with Mental Illness Transitional Living Services, Inc.
2005 Mark Sweet Positive Approaches Award TASH
2004 DRW President’s Award Brain Injury Association of Wisconsin
2003 DRW Professional Service Award NAMI Wisconsin
2003 DRW Resolution “for past, present and continuing advocacy efforts on behalf of people who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing and their families.” Wisconsin Association for the Deaf