Smiling child

DRW Board

The DRW Board is composed of consumers, family members, and others who have a demonstrated concern for people with disabilities. The Board is committed to making strong efforts to ensure that its membership reflects a balance as to the gender, racial, and geographic distribution of people in Wisconsin.


  • Susan Gramling, Milwaukee

Vice President

  • Pete Sayner, La Crosse


  • Saphronia Purnell-Carson, Green Bay

Board Members

  • Pearl Fessenden, Rhinelander
  • Anthony Flottmeyer, La Crosse
  • Norm Gahn, Hartland
  • Philip Nawrocki, Verona
  • James Powell, Sun Prairie
  • Jeffrey Simmons, Monona
  • Teresa Wargo, Pulaski
  • Theresa Zenchenko, Evansville

DRW Board Listening Sessions

Three to four times per year, the DRW Board conducts Listening Sessions around the state to hear from people with disabilities, their families, friends, disability activists, service providers and other concerned individuals about their ideas for the future of disability advocacy and the issues that need to be addressed in the areas of special education, developmental disability, mental health and physical disability services and disability rights. This information helps the Board set priorities for the agency.